So I’m teaching a workshop at TCDL in 2013 and I’ve pasted my prospectus below. I’ll start fleshing this out more next week as I’m giving a practice lecture to a digital curation course here on campus before the end of the month. One thing I know I’ll need to add is a simple introduction to loops, e.g. “for i in *; do…”.

My workshop will introduce command-line image manipulation to its participants using the open source software ImageMagick. While many are familiar with image manipulation software using graphical user interfaces, or GUIs, such as Adobe Photoshop, GIMP, and Pixelmator, there is less awareness of programs built on command-line interfaces, or CLIs. In a CLI, the user issues commands to the program by typing lines of text. This workshop is targeted at first time and novice CLI users and is structured to provide a strong foundation of skills to build upon.

Topics covered will include:

  • History of the command-line interface
  • Navigating folder hierarchies on the command-line
  • The “find” command
  • Installing ImageMagick in Linux, Mac OS X, and Windows XP/Vista/7
  • Creating an image by typing a single line of text
  • Convert versus mogrify
  • Image manipulations possible in ImageMagick
  • Creating web derivatives from master image files
  • The Identify command
  • Applying and removing image compression

Due to the nature of this workshop, participants will need to bring a laptop on which they have Administrative rights.

